HB 40 Senate Hearing Thursday

Email/Call All Senators

HB 40 Senate Public Hearing This Thursday

Vote likely Soon!

After you contact the members of the Natural Resources Committee, begin contacting ALL senators and insisting they vote against HB 40 unless it contains the following changes. To email a senator, simply click on his/her email address.HB 40 is sitting with the Senate Natural Resources Committee, so we have more time to seek revisions. Please contact the members listed at the end of this email and ask them to make the following changes to HB 40.

1. Remove the stipulation that gas ordinance regulations be “commercially reasonable.”  This phrase is vague and places gas industry’s wishes above the health, safety, and well being of residents. It would annihilate most truly protective regulations.

2. Allow city gas ordinances passed in the last year to be effective. Important due to ever increasing knowledge about impacts of fracking on health and safety and the environment as well as rapidly changing technology.

3. Permit cities to reject/ regulate injection wells. Mention this week’s report that Azele Earthquakes are being caused by injection wells makes this right critical.

4. Permit cities to require vapor recovery units. Recent worker deaths from inhaling hydro-carbons makes this right essential.

Vice-Chair

Members:

Texas Senate Contact Information

Senator Paul Bettencourt paul.bettencourt@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0107
Senator Brian Birdwell brain.birdwell@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0122
Senator Konni Burton konni.burton@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0110
Senator Donna Campbell donna.campbell@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0125
Senator Brandon Creighton brandon.creighton@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0104
Senator Rodney Ellis rodney.ellis@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0113
Senator Kevin Eltife kevin.eltife@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0101
Senator Craig Estes craig.estes@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0130
Senator Troy Fraser troy.fraser@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0124
Senator Sylvia Garcia sylvia.garcia@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0106
Senator Bob Hall bob.hall@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0102
Senator Kelly Hancock kelly.hancock@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0109
Senator Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa juan.hinojosa@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0120
Senator Don Huffines don.huffines@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0116
Senator Joan Huffman joan.huffman@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0117
Senator Lois Kolkhorst lois.kolkhorst@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0118
Senator Eddie Lucio eddie.lucio@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0127
Senator Jose Menendez jose.menedez@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0126
Senator Jane Nelson jane.nelson@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0112
Senator Robert Nichols robert.nichols@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0103
Senator Charles Perry charles.perry@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0128
Senator José Rodríguez jose.rodriguez@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0129
Senator Charles Schwertner charles.schwertner@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0105
Senator Kel Seliger kel.seliger@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0131
Senator Larry Taylor larry.taylor@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0111
Senator Van Taylor van.taylor@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0108
Senator Carlos Uresti carlos.uresti@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0119
Senator Kirk Watson kirk.watson@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0114
Senator Royce West royce.west@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0123
Senator John Whitmire john.whitmire@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0115
Senator Judith Zaffirini judith.zaffirini@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0121